Pineapple Pico De Gallo & Homemade Tortilla Chips

FullSizeRender-1

I’m not sure what it is lately, but I’ve been in a southwestern state of mind! Whipping up the likes of bacon guacamole, to jalapeño margarita’s, and now.. pineapple pico de gallo.

I think like everyone else, I’m counting down the days to summer! And looking forward to warm nights, sitting outside, having cocktails with my closest friends, and catching up on life! Making plans to hit the beach, take a hike, or catch a concert on a whim! It’s all got my mind reeling and just like my choice in outfits, and color, often times reflect my mood, so does my choice in food.

While I can take full credit for this delicious pineapple pico de gallo recipe, I cannot say the same for the tortilla recipe.  However, I wanted to give you both because they are an excellent combination and neither is too tedious to whip up on a whim.

Whim?? There’s that word again..

This pico de gallo is a home run! It goes great with chips (someone said it’s national chip day??) it also goes great with fajita’s, tacos, or all alone.. No matter how you eat it, you’re going to love it! It’s an absolute “wow!!!” So, dig in..

FullSizeRender-7

1 small pineapple, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

4 mini sweet red peppers, seeded and diced

4 mini sweet orange peppers, seeded and diced

4 mini sweet yellow peppers, seeded and diced

2 whole jalapeño peppers, seeded and diced

1 whole bunch of cilantro, chopped

Juice of 2 limes

1 teaspoon sea salt

FullSizeRender-10

How pretty does that look?? I love cilantro!!

Throw all the ingredients into a large bowl and toss it together.

FullSizeRender-8

Now let’s move on to the chips..

1 1/2 cups of almond flour

1/2 cup of flax seed meal (this gives it that delicious taste of corn)

2 egg whites

1/2 teaspoon of sea salt

Place almond flour, flax seed meal, egg whites, and salt in a food processor.  Pulse until a ball of dough forms.  Place on a silicone baking sheet or parchment paper.

Sprinkle arrowroot flour on the dough, so it does not stick to the rolling pin and roll out dough to about 1/8 inch thick.  Another option is to place parchment paper on top of the dough while rolling it out.

FullSizeRender-12

Cut into triangular wedges.

FullSizeRender-6

And transfer on to a baking sheet.

FullSizeRender-11

How cute are these?? Btw, I love these silicone baking mats.  They make life so much easier! 🙂

Bake at 350 for 12 minutes.

Transfer to a baking wire rack to cool.  This will allow them to become extra crispy!

FullSizeRender-9

Now……….

Dip and enjoy!!! 🙂

About peaceofpaleo

I love to cook, eat, write new recipes, blog, and take pics! Paleo to me, is about eating right and all natural! It's become my passion and way of life!

Leave a Reply

