Diner-Style Plantian Cakes (aka pancakes)

FullSizeRender-8 2

I absolutely love pancakes! I think they are one of the best breakfast treats in the world! I have probably consumed a stack at every breakfast stop along the Northeast.   From Sugar & Spice in Vermont to The Original House of Pancakes in New Jersey to the Mad Batter in the beautiful Cape! I think you get the picture! 😉

Pancakes are so universal! They pretty much go well with everything from chocolate chips to blueberries! And the shapes are endless! I’m sure I’m not the only one who has found herself making Minnie Mouse on the griddle or a few hearts here and there…

This delicious pancake recipe is one of my favorites! It has just the right amount of everything! And I have to tell you that as I’m typing this, I’m doing everything I can to resist eating the last few, simply to avoid entering into a food coma, this early in the day!

Happy Sunday!

(I love Sunday breakfast)

4 ripe plantains

3 large eggs

Coconut oil, for cooking

1 vanilla bean (inside scooped out)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon sea salt

Place the plantains in the food processor along with the inside of the vanilla bean that you scooped out.  While on pulse pour the eggs slowly through the top of the food processor and allow the mixture to blend and become very smooth.

FullSizeRender-9

You can see the vanilla bean! I love that!

I get so excited about food! Haha! 🙂

Now add the baking powder, baking soda, and sea salt, and give it another few pulses until it’s blended together.

Transfer the batter to a mixing bowl.

FullSizeRender-10

 

How delicious does that batter look!?!

Over medium heat, melt a few tablespoons of coconut oil on the griddle or skillet, depending on how you cook your flapjacks! 🙂 Allow the griddle or skillet to get hot.

Using a ladle or spoon, place the mixture on the griddle or skillet and allow the pancakes to cook for about 3-4 minutes or until bubbles appear on the surface.

FullSizeRender-11

Flip and cook for another 2-3 minutes.

Continue cooking the pancakes until all of the batter has been used, adding more coconut oil as needed.

I like to top mine with Kerrygold butter and pure maple syrup!

Enjoy! 🙂

About peaceofpaleo

I love to cook, eat, write new recipes, blog, and take pics! Paleo to me, is about eating right and all natural! It's become my passion and way of life!

Leave a Reply

